Himalayan Yoga Academy

Education & research Foundation

Yoga Nidra, a Foundation for Meditation

8 Aug 2019 HYN Himalayan Yoga Academy

Yoga Nidra at Himalayan Yoga Academy

Introduction: Yoga Nidra

“Yogashchittavrittinirodhah” – Yoga means the cessation of fluctuated thoughts in chitta. Chitta is a composition of four fundamentals e.g. mind, ego, intellect and consciousness. Spiritual form of yoga is Samadhi. Yoga or Samadhi has itself infinite goals. Meditation is the final tool for this submits. When yogins reach in Meditation (state of devoid) throughout specific techniques or paths, then yoga or harmony begins. Meditation is still state or entire homeostasis, is a kind of mission with ecstasy, one meditates to feel that enthusiasm within. Meditation is not done, just made the atmosphere. It is not easy to attempt the meditation how the people, even the most of Yoga Guru think about the meditation practice and merits.More about Yoga Nidra

Paatanjal Yoga Darshana, the first and authentic pure sacred yogic text is the systematic and modified version of all the yogic experiences since the Shiva civilization and Vedic civilization to classical period of Yoga era. Maharshi Patanjali summarized the yogic patterns into Ashtanga yoga, eight fold path of Yoga which are given below.

Ashtanga Yoga (Eight Limbs of Yoga):

“Yama- Niyamasana- Pranayama- Pratyahara- DharanaDhayan-Samadhayoastavangani”  P.Y.S 2:29

  1. Yama (Social Ethics)-      
  • Niyama (Self Ethics):- 
  • Asana(Body Ethics):-
  • Pranayama(Breath Ethics):-
  • Pratyahara(Mind Ethics):-
  • Dharana(Attitude Ethics):-
  • Dhyana(Wisdom Ethics):-
  • Samadhi(Consciousness Ethics):-

Pratyahara (Mind Ethics or Withdrawal of senses) is the fifth stage of Ashtanga yoga which is neither external nor internal. It is just as bridge from Bahiranga Yoga (External) to Antaranga Yoga (Internal).  It is the condition in which the senses have no any contact with the objects of their nature of chitta. As a pratyahara practice, Yoga-nidra (Yogic sleep or psychic sleep) is the major tool and also use of five senses in silence patterns.

Yoga- nidra is rooted from Tantra Yoga as a self healing or self hypnotism healing. Yoga nidra is an art of physical, mental and emotional relaxation. It is also for union of body and mind. It is the foundation for meditation. But for the people with modern stressful life is itself full meditation. It is the inner awareness creation practice. In this state between sleep and wakefulness, contact with the unconscious and sub-conscious dimensions appears spontaneously.

Yoga nidra is the practice of hearing and feeling. It is the rotation of awareness throughout the body parts. It is performed in shavasana.

The following methods can be used in yoga nidra practice.

  1. Body preparation and relaxation
  2. Resolve
  3. Awareness of breath
  4. Awareness of atmosphere
  5. Rotation of awareness throughout the body
  6. Feeling of sensations
  7. Resolve
  8. Bring back the awareness to the  breath
  9. Bring back the awareness to the body
  10. concluding

TAGS: Asana ayurveda ayurveda therapy bridge pose children food health Himalayan Yoga Mantra Meditation in Nepal Meditation Nepal Nepal Nepal yoga Pose Power reiki reiki training Shiva Shiva mantra Surya Kriya Triyambakam vegan diet Yoga Yoga Academy Yoga Asana Yoga for All yoga for children Yoga in Nepal Yoga Life yoga pose yoga retreat Yoga retreat Nepal Yoga Teacher Training Nepal