Himalayan Yoga Academy

Education & research Foundation
+977 9860831725 [email protected]

The Ashtanga Yoga Intermediate Series (Nadi Shodhana)

17 Apr 2020 HYN Himalayan Yoga Academy


The Ashtanga Yoga Intermediate Series:

By Yoga Guru Subodh

The Ashtanga Intermediate is the second series among the six serieses of Ashtanga Yoga. Intermediate series is definately more challenging than Primary Series demanding better flexibility, strength and long term practice. This is often called as Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga since each pose is connected to the next with vinyasa flow. This series is ordered by Shri K. Pattabhi Jois (26 July 1915 – 18 May 2009). The second series is known as Nadi Shodhana – meaning Nerve Cleansing. This is because of the focus on backbend asanas.

The backbends encourage and maintain the suppleness of the spine and as well as working on opening the energy channels allowing Prana to flow freely.  Ujjayi breath, Bandha (energy control) and Drishti (focus) during the asana becomes deeper in experince due to long term practice. (Nadi Shodhana is also the name given to Alternate Nostril Pranayama). The holding durarion on each pose is generally for five ujjyai breath or as long as you can do.

While some of the earlier asanas in the sequence may be familiar to many (Locust Pose for example) the Intermediate series sequence moves onto more intense backbends, hip opening poses and headstand variations. Before practicing Intermediate series, you need to practice Primary series for about two years. This will unfold you a new energetic dimension. If you get your body flexible and powerful enough and there is no more things to learn. Then second series will be a novel chance for practice.

The poses have their own health benefits and challenges but the specific combination of the poses works strongly on the nervous system, so it can have a very different effect on the body than the Primary series or other dynamic yoga classes. It’s therefore really important to end your practice with a long Savasana and as you start out practising the Intermediate series begin on a day when you don’t have too much going on.

Asanas in The Ashtanga Yoga Intermediate Series ( Nadi Shodhana ) are as follows :

  1. Padangustasana
  2. Padahastasana
  3. Utthita Trikonasana
  4. Parivritta Trikonasana
  5. Utthita Parsvokonasana
  6. Parivritta Parsvokonasana
  7. Prasarita Padottanasana A, B, C, D
  8. Parsvottanasana
  9. Pashasana
  10. Krounchasana
  11. Shalambhasana A
  12. Shalambhasana B
  13. Bhekasana
  14. Dhanurasana
  15. Parsva Danurasana
  16. Ustrasana
  17. Laghu Vajrasana
  18. Kapotasana A
  19. Kapotasana B
  20. Supta Vajrasana
  21. Bakasana A
  22. Bakasana B
  23. Bharadvajasana
  24. Ardha Matsyendrasana
  25. Eka Pada Sirsasana A
  26. Eka Pada Sirsasana B
  27. Dvi Pada Sirsanana A
  28. Dvi Pada Sirsanana B
  29. Yoga Nidrasana
  30. Tittibhasana A, B, C, D
  31. Pincha Mayurasana
  32. Karandavasana
  33. Mayurasana
  34. Nakrasana Vatayanasana
  35. Parighasana
  36. Gomukhasana A, B
  37. Supta Urdhva Pada Vajrasana
  38. Mukta Hasta Sirsana A, B, C
  39. Baddha Hasta Sirsasana A, B, C, D
  40. Urdhva Danurasana
  41. Salamba Sarvangasana
  42. Halasana
  43. Karnapidasana
  44. Urdhva Padmasana
  45. Pindasana
  46. Matysasana
  47. Uttana Padasana
  48. Sirsasana
  49. Balasana
  50. Yoga Mudrasana
  51. Padmasana
  52. Utplutih
  53. Savasana

TAGS: Asana ayurveda ayurveda therapy bridge pose children food health Himalayan Yoga Mantra Meditation in Nepal Meditation Nepal Nepal Nepal yoga Pose Power reiki reiki training Shiva Shiva mantra Surya Kriya Triyambakam vegan diet Yoga Yoga Academy Yoga Asana Yoga for All yoga for children Yoga in Nepal Yoga Life yoga pose yoga retreat Yoga retreat Nepal Yoga Teacher Training Nepal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.